Can we use Community version of Search Guard for Kibana User authoriztion

Hi All,

I work as a developer and deployed community version of Elasticsearch v6.2.4 and Kibana v6.2.4.
Now I have created few Dashboards and the work fine.

Upon discussion with my team they want to know if we can have some sort of authentication to who can see tha dashboards. Meaning only 1 or multiple user can change indexes dashboards in kibana whereas only few created Users can just have READ only access o the dashboards.

I read that we can use Search Guard community version for this purpose since this feature is available in it.

But I feel the sgconfig slightly tough to understand and I can use GUI only for trial version.
Can I create users and roles in GUI while in my trial version and then add below in my ES config.
Will the roles and user still exist afterwards?

searchguard.enterprise_modules_enabled: false

While we are at it, Can someone also tell if I can configure if a particular user can only have access to particular Dashboard.
For Example in below scenarios:-
User 1 - Can read only Dashboard 1.
User 2 - Can Read/Write only Dashboard 2 and Read only Dashboard 1
User 3 - Permission to upload data and create new index

Tons of thanks for any answer provided. If we move forward to establishing ES after the PoC, would definitely recommend Enterprise version of Search Guard to higher management.

Jatin

The use case you are describing is implemented by the SG Multi Tenancy feature in Kibana, which is not included in the community edition unfortunately. With the multi tenancy you can define tenants, give them read/write or read-only permissions, and assign them to SG roles. A tenant is basically a container for saved objects, like dashboards and visualizations, and separates these objects from objects stored in other tenants.